In the Beginning…

In 1980, Ata Rangi founder Clive Paton made the bold decision to sell his small herd of dairy cows in order to buy 5 hectares of stony, barren sheep paddock at the edge of the small Martinborough village. His dream, inspired by a scientific soil and climate report on the suitability of Martinborough for grape-growing, was to become a world class vigneron. As a keen rugby player he had often skinned his knees on the free-draining gravels of Martinborough, so he knew very well the challenges he faced in nurturing the young vines.

Clive was soon joined by his sister Alison who purchased a 2 ha adjoining paddock. Clive planted this in pinot noir while she worked  in London, bolstering her knowledge of the international wine trade. Clive married in 1987, after meeting his wife Phyll in Marlborough where she’d also been working as a winemaker.  Ata Rangi, thanks largely to talented and highly respected Winemaker Helen Masters, has an enviable reputation as one of the New World’s most respected Pinot Noir producers and remains proudly in family ownership.

Our People are Ata Rangi

Helen Masters

Winemaker helen@atarangi.co.nz 027 254 7467

Helen has been the driving force of our excellence in winemaking since 2003. As well as maintaining a very close relationship with the vineyard team, she champions our ISO14001 Environmental certification programme and is the face of the business in our extensive overseas markets.

Gerry Rotman – Vineyard Manager gerry@atarangi.co.nz 027 499 8627

Eleanor Dodd – Mail Order Enquiries eleanor@atarangi.co.nz 06 306 9570 Ext 2

Helen McLeod – Accounts & Administration admin@atarangi.co.nz 06 306 9570 Ext 1

Pete Monk – Business Manager (and website administrator) pete@atarangi.co.nz 027 220 3300

Alison Paton – Commercial Manager & Co-owner alison@atarangi.co.nz 027 226 0575

Clive Paton – Founder, Conservationist clive@atarangi.co.nz 027 254 7447

Phyll Pattie – Co-owner phyll@atarangi.co.nz 027 437 9131

Back to top